Skip to content

  • There are over 80 key national and international statutory nature sites within Hertfordshire. These include: 

43 Sites of Special Scientific Interest (SSSI)

42 Local Nature Reserves (LNR)

1 RAMSAR site

1 Special Protection Area (SPA)

1 Special Area of Conservation  (SAC)

  • The Metropolitan Green Belt covers approximately 52% of Hertfordshire

  • Since 1934, more than 96% of Hertfordshire's wildflower meadows have disappeared or now lack any significant wildlife interest. 

  • Hertfordshire contains one nationally designated landscape, the Chilterns area of outstanding natural beauty (AONB), which has been protected since 1965.

  • 14% of the Chilterns AONB falls within the county

  • The landscape character in Hertfordshire is reflected in a number of "Landscape Character Types" identified in the East of England Regional Landscape Framework.

  • The Hertfordshire landscape character assessment (LCA) divides the landscape into more than 200 locally distinctive areas that share common characteristics. Each landscape area is mapped and includes a general strategy and a list of unique guidelines for managing change, based on the condition and robustness of the landscape. 

  • Hertfordshire has a 50 year vision for the wildlife and natural habitats of Hertfordshire and this is set out in Hertfordshire Biodiversity Action Plan.  

  • 2010 was the International Year of Biodiversity. Everyone was encouraged to take direct action to reduce the constant loss of biological diversity worldwide.