Skip to content

We are proud of the panel membership that comprises over 30 skilled and experienced individuals drawn from a range of built environment professions including architecture, landscape architecture and urban design, spatial planning and masterplanning, transport, sustainable building, and the natural and historic built environment.


Panel Chairs

  • Jon Rowland, Architect, Jon Rowland Urban Design
  • Yasmin Shariff, Architect, Dennis Sharp Architects
  • Peter Studdert, Planner/Urban Designer, Peter Studdert Planning

Panel Members

  • Sasha Bhavan, Architect, Knox Bhavan Architects
  • Harriet Bourne, Landscape Architect, BBUK Studio
  • Kevin Burrell, Architect, Kevin Burrell Consulting
  • Frances Christie, Landscape Architect, remapp
  • Simon Collier, Landscape Architect/Urban Designer, David Lock Associates
  • Martin Cook, Architect, DQM Solutions
  • Philip Copsey, Town Planner/Urban Designer, David Lock Associates
  • Ian Dimbylow, Civil Engineer (Design and Management), WSP UK Ltd
  • Bernard Fleming, Ecologist, Fleming Ecology
  • David Frisby, Civil Engineer, Mode Transport
  • Stanley Haines, Architect, Haines Phillips architects
  • Neil Harding, Civil Engineer, NHTB Consultancy
  • Sibylla Hartel, Landscape Architect, Gustafson Porter
  • David Jennings, Architect, EPR Architects
  • Phil Jones, Civil Engineer, Phil Jones Associates
  • Mehron Kirk, Landscape Architect/Urban Designer, BDP (Building Design Partnership)
  • Oliver Milton, Architect, Hawkins Brown Architects
  • Tim Murphy, Archaeologist (Buildings), Waterman Infrastructure and Environment
  • Hugo Nowell, Landscape/Urban Designer, Urban Initiatives Studio
  • Michael Osman, Town Planner, Planning and Regeneration Ltd
  • David Prichard, Architect, Metropolitan Workshop
  • Colin Shields, Transport Engineer, WYG Environment Planning and Transport
  • Christopher Snow, Architect, New Town Studio
  • Stuart Steverson, Architect, Target Eight Design
  • David Strong, Engineer (Building Services), David Strong Consulting
  • Simon Thomas, Ecologist, Tim Moya Associates
  • Ian Turkington, Landscape Architect, Turkington Martin Studio
  • Nicolas Tye, Architect, Nicolas Tye Architects
  • Derek Walker, Building Engineer, EDP Consulting Limited
  • John Wilkinson, Architect, Capital Property and Construction Consultants

Panel Member Protocol

Where a panel member has direct or indirect interest in the scheme then that individual should not take part in the review of the scheme. Compromising factors are:

a) Where that individual will take part in one of the presentations.

b) Where that individual is closely associated with any of the presenters e.g. as an employee, work colleague, or as a relative.

c) Where apart from the specific remit of their company or organisation, that individual has a financial or other interest in the development under discussion.

The panel must also adhere to the Nolan Principles of Public Life:

  • 1. Selflessness - Recommendations should be made by the panel members solely in terms of the public interest. They should not do so in order to gain financial or other material benefits for themselves, their family, or their friends.
  • 2. Integrity - Panel members should not place themselves under any financial or other obligation to outside individuals or organisations that might influence them in the performance of their official duties.
  • 3. Objectivity - Panel members should always make decisions purely on merit.
  • 4. Accountability - They are accountable for their decisions and actions to the public and must submit themselves to whatever scrutiny is appropriate to their office.
  • 5. Openness - They should be as open as possible about all the decisions and actions that they take.
  • 6. Honesty - They have a duty to declare any private interests relating to their public duties and to take steps to resolve any conflicts arising in a way that protects the public interest.
  • 7. Leadership - They should promote and support these principles by leadership and example.