Skip to content

Hertfordshire Send Local Offer

Delivering special provision locally (DSPL) provides a range of support across the county for children and young people with special educational needs and disabilities.

Each area works with:

  • Parents and carers

  • Schools and staff in early years settings

  • Further education staff

  • Representatives from other agencies

DSPL areas support schools to:

  • Meet the needs of children and young people with special educational needs and/or disabilities (SEND), aged 0-25, as close to home as possible.

  • Improve outcomes for wellbeing and attainment

  • Widen choice for children and parents/carers

  • Remove barriers to learning

  • Use resources effectively.

Hertfordshire is split into 9 different DSPL groups which respond to local need:

  • Area 1 - Hitchin, Letchworth, Baldock and Royston

  • Area 2 - Stevenage

  • Area 3 - Bishop’s Stortford, Sawbridgeworth, Buntingford, Watton-at-Stone, Hertford and Ware

  • Area 4 - Hoddesdon, Broxbourne and Cheshunt

  • Area 5 - Welwyn Garden City and Hatfield (excluding south Hatfield villages)

  • Area 6 - Potters Bar (including south Hatfield villages) and Borehamwood

  • Area 7 - Harpenden and St Albans

  • Area 8 - Berkhamsted, Tring, Hemel Hempstead and Kings Langley

  • Area 9 - Watford, Three Rivers, Bushey and Radlett.

Email us if you have any questions.