In Hertfordshire, you have 3 levels of local government:


Hertfordshire County Council (us)

From fixing the roads to looking after children and adults who need care, we're responsible for a wide range of services.

More about what we do


District and borough councils

There are 10 district and borough councils in Hertfordshire. They're responsible for things like:

  • bin collections
  • planning – new houses, extensions and shops
  • council tax – registering, paying and payment enquiries
  • housing
  • parking
  • licensing
  • pest control
  • environmental health
  • leisure services.

More about district and borough councils


Town and parish councils

There are 124 town, parish and community councils in Hertfordshire.

They provide more local services in the community, including allocating allotments and looking after closed churchyards. They have to be consulted on local planning matters.

More about town and parish councils